Courthouse Building, 1st Floor
Melanie Stake, County Clerk
P O Box 488
209 S. Saint Marie Street
Wautoma, WI 54982-0488
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:30pm
Click here to Email County Clerk
Sarah Luchini - Deputy County Clerk
Donna Lee Teschner - Finance Specialist
Click on a link below:
County Board Minutes/Proceedings
Timber Cutting Notice Filing Fees
Waushara County Municipal Polling Locations
Domestic Partnership Information
Audit Reports - 2008 - 2009 -
2010 - 2011
DOG LICENSE INFORMATION
TO ALL DOG OWNERS
OF WAUSHARA COUNTY
to Sec. 174.05(2), Wisconsin Statutes, notice is hereby given to all
owners of dogs in Waushara County that rabies vaccinations and dog licenses
are required under the statutes, and that late fees will be assessed as
of April 1st.
by a veterinarian against rabies of all dogs is required under Sec.
95.21(2) within thirty (30) days after the dog reaches four (4) months
of age and revaccinated within one (1) year of the initial vaccination.
owner of a dog shall have the dog revaccinated against rabies by a
veterinarian before the day that the immunization expires as stated on
the certificate of vaccination or, if no date is specified, within three
(3) years after the previous vaccination.
the owner obtains the dog or brings the dog into this state after the
dog reached four months of age, the owner shall have the dog vaccinated
against rabies within 30 days after the dog is obtained or brought into
the state unless the dog has been vaccinated as evidenced by a current
certificate of rabies vaccination from this state or another state.
dogs five (5) months of age or older, require a license. License year
for all dogs licenses is based on a calendar year. Proof of current
immunization against rabies must be presented at the time the license is
requested. If you cannot find your dog's rabies shot vaccination
certificate, a duplicate copy should be obtained from your veterinarian.
FEES ARE: $10.00 FOR UN-NEUTERED OR UN-SPAYED DOGS AND $5.00 FOR NEUTERED
OR SPAYED DOGS, UPON PRESENTATION OF EVIDENCE ATTESTING THE SAME. KENNEL
FEE IS $35.00 FOR THE FIRST TWELVE (12) DOGS, WITH $3.00 FOR EACH
ADDITIONAL DOG OVER TWELVE (12).
A late fee of $5.00 shall be assessed the owner of each dog five (5)
months of age or over who fails to obtain a dog license prior to April 1
of the license year. An owner who fails to have a dog vaccinated against
rabies as required by statute may be required to forfeit not less than
$50.00 nor more than $100.00. The County Clerk's Office will sell dog
licenses for any municipality that has authorized Waushara County to be
a "collection official".
Melanie Stake, County Clerk
Back to Top of Page
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION
As required by Chapter 765
You must apply in the County where you lived for at least the last 30
days. The Bride or Groom must be a Waushara Co. resident. Proof of
residency is required (i.e. Wis. Drivers License).
EXCEPTION: If you are both residents of another state,
you then MUST apply in the Wisconsin County where you will be married.
Applicants must be 18 years of age. Application may be made at the age
of 16, but parents or legal guardians MUST give written consent. Forms
for Consent are available in the County Clerk's Office, and parents or guardians
signatures must be notarized.
Wisconsin State Law (Sect. 765.09)(3) requires ALL to provide the County Clerk with a copy of their Birth
Certificate. A Certified Copy is from the Register of Deeds in the County of
Birth or the State Dept. of Health Vital Statistics. A certified copy bears a
statement that your records are on file and also carries a raised seal of the
registrar. (Hospital Souvenir Certificates or "Notification of
Birth" are not acceptable.)
CERTIFIED BIRTH CERTIFICATES MUST BE PROVIDED PRIOR TO
RELEASE OF THE MARRIAGE LICENSE TO YOU.
Social Security Numbers - Effective 5/7/98, Act 191
mandates the collection of Social Security numbers. Refusal to furnish the
number will result in no license being issued.
If you were married before, you must provide copies of the Final
Judgement of your last divorce, or a Death Certificate, which ever is
applicable. You may not apply for marriage until at least six (6) months after
divorce is finalized.
There is a 5 day waiting period from the time you apply to the time you
receive your license. If, for some reason, you need the license in less than 5
days, an additional $10.00 waiver fee will be required.
The License is only valid for 30 days from the Date of
Issuance. Therefore, applicants should not apply more than thirty (30) days in
advance of the wedding date.
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANTS
Both bride and groom MUST sign the application and certificate before
the license will be issued. With your signature, you are taking an oath the
marriage is lawful and all information given on the application is correct.
Cost of the license from Waushara County is $80.00 (+$10.00 Waiver Fee,
There are two Court Commissioners in Waushara County who will perform
a civil ceremony for a fee
Atty. Robyn Blader Atty. Joan Olson
405 W. Main
221 S. Scott St.
Wautoma, WI 54982 Wautoma, WI 54982
When you make application, we need to know the name, address and
telephone number of the person performing the ceremony.
Brides...if you change your name, let Social Security know.
(There is never a charge for this service). Earnings, tax and other
reports may be confused unless you apply to have your Social Security card
reissued. Forms are available at the County Clerk's Office.
Back to Top of Page